Hodge Memorial Award

Hodge Memorial Award Guidelines


This award was named in memory of Dr. George E. Hodge, the first President of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery. Its aim is to recognize excellence in scientific research. Submissions for the award are expected to be a significant work, encompassing either clinical or basic research. It need not be a single-authored work and it cannot have been previously presented nor should it be under consideration for presentation elsewhere.


ACTIVE members of the Society, in good standing, are eligible to receive the Hodge Memorial Award.

Review Committee

Submissions are judged by a committee whose members are not eligible for the award: Past President, CSOHNS (Chair), Editor, The Journal of Otolaryngology, Chief Royal College Examiner for Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Chair and/or representative of the Awards Committee. All reviews are confidential and the final decision may not be appealed.


One winner only will be named each year. He or she will receive an engraved plaque at the annual meeting and a prize valued at approximately $1,000.00. In addition, the winner’s return economy airfare, two nights hotel accommodations and registration fee will be paid to attend the annual meeting to present his or her work. Expenses will be reimbursed in accordance with the Society’s travel guidelines. The winner’s name will be recorded in the Society’s Membership Directory on an annual basis.

Guidelines for Submissions

Those intending to apply for the award must submit an ABSTRACT via the general scientific program online submission process available on this website. An electronic copy of the completed work must be received by AUGUST 1st to qualify for the that year’s award. The complete manuscript must be submitted to the Journal of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery for publication.

Please address submission to:
Dr. D. MacNeil, Awards Committee Chair, and email to [email protected]

Recipients Of The Hodge Memorial Award

2018 Dr. Vincent Biron, Edmonton, AB
Analytic and Clinical Validity of Thyroid Nodule Mutational Profile Using Droplet Digital Polymerase Chain Reaction
2006 Dr. Pierre Gauthier, St. Charles, QC
1992 Dr. Paul Wurtele, Montreal, QC
1986 Dr. James A.J. Haight, Toronto, ON
1984 Dr. A. Johnson
1983 Dr. David Proops
1981 Dr. C. Mann
1980 Dr. J.F. Smith
1965 Dr. John Frederickson
1964 Dr. Robert Bernard

Members Only

Pay Your Dues Job Board Continuing Professional Development Journal of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery LearnENT/UGM App
Council & Committees Canadian Departments of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Choosing Wisely Canada Join the Society

Upcoming Events: