Journal of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery 


The Official Publication of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery





The Editors-in-Chief, Dr. Brian Rotenberg and Dr. Douglas Chepeha, are please to announce that as of January 1, 2024 the Journal of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery will have a new publisher, Sage Publishing.

Sage Publishing is a global academic publisher of books, journals, and a growing suite of library products and services.  It was founded in 1965 in New York City by Sara Miller McCune and is now based in the Newbury Park neighborhood of Thousand Oaks, California.  For more information about Sage please visit their website at

FOR YOUR REFERENCE     Because submissions to BMC (current publisher) will close on November 17, 2023, we suggest that you postpone submitting your work until after that date when the Sage portal will be open to manuscripts.  More information, as well as the necessary instructions will be available here after November 17.




Our ranking has made the Journal a top quartile journal of international impact.

Much of the credit for this increase must go to our Associate Editors for their efforts in working with reviewers to accept only higher quality scientific submissions to be published. Even thought we’ve published more than ever, we’ve also been cited far more.  By setting a higher bar, the Journal continues to have strong science as its trademark. Our sincerest thanks to all the Associate Editors for their diligent and thoughtful work.

The Journal of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery, on BioMed Central’s publishing platform, is an open access, peer-reviewed journal publishing on all aspects and sub-specialties of otolaryngology-head & neck surgery, including pediatric and geriatric otolaryngology, rhinology & anterior skull base surgery, otology/neurotology, facial plastic & reconstructive surgery, head & neck oncology, and maxillofacial rehabilitation, as well as a broad range of related topics.

For those who wish to access Journal of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery articles prior to 2013 please contact the CSO-HNS office.

Call for Associate Editors for General Otolaryngology and Head & Neck Surgery


The Journal is seeking  Associate Editors to manage submissions for general otolaryngology and head & neck surgery.

Click the following links to review the terms of reference and qualifications for this volunteer position:

Please email your CV along with a cover letter to the Society office at: [email protected] by November 30th.  Questions can be directed to the same email.


Make A Payment for an Article

Thank-you for choosing to publish in the Journal of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery!  The Society covers 50% of the publishing fee for original research articles and reviews for CSOHNS active members in good standing for 3 years that are either the first or senior author on the article.  Authors are responisble for the balance of the fee. (currently $865.00 USD = $1194.00 )

You can pay by:

CHEQUE:  Please made the cheque payable to the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and mailed to the office.

CREDIT CARD (VISA or MC):  Mail, Fax or Phone in your payment.

 CSOHNS, 68 Gilkison Street, ELORA, ON N0B 1S0 Tel (519) 846-0630;  Fax (519) 846-9529



Read the Latest Journal Articles

Articles (BioMed Central – Part of Springer Nature)










Editorial Board

Dr. Douglas Chepeha, Co-Editor-in-Chief
New Content Item

Dr. Chepeha is a staff physician at the University Health Network and a Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Toronto; he is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Michigan. He currently serves on a number of administrative committees locally and internationally, such as the American Head and Neck Society Head and Neck Reconstruction Committee and the NRG Oncology Head and Neck Cancer General Committee and Surgical Subcommittee. Dr. Chepeha’s research interests relate to clinical and translational questions in head and neck oncology and microvascular reconstructive surgery, with a particular focus on clinical trials, epidemiology, and multidisciplinary, prospective clinical research. He is extensively published with over 150 papers in peer-reviewed journals.


Dr Brian Rotenberg, Editor-in-Chief

Dr Rotenberg is Associate Professor of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry in Western Univeristy (London, Ontario) and Program Director for the residency program.  He obtained his MD degree at University of Toronto, as well as Royal College certification in Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery.  He is dual fellowship trained in sinonasal surgery and pediatric surgery, both from University of Melbourne (Australia), and joined the faculty at Western University in 2007. He is a founding member of the International Surgical Sleep Society and is now sits on the society’s Executive Board. Dr. Rotenberg is the outgoing Scientific Chair of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology. He is an invited speaker nationally and internationally on topics relating to sleep apnea and rhinology and has more than 100 peer reviewed publications and book chapters as well as funded research grants to study both sleep surgery and sinonasal research.


Associate Editors

Dr. Vincent Biron, University of Alberta, EDMONTON, AB

Dr. Michael Brandt, University of Toronto, TORONTO, ON

Dr. Jason Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, HONG KONG

Dr. Shamir Chandarana, University of Calgary, CALGARY, AB

Dr. Brent Chang, Phoenix, AZ, USA

Dr. David Côté, University of Edmonton, EDMONTON, AB

Dr. Chris Diamond, University of British Columbia, VANCOUVER, BC

Dr. Cathie Garnis, University of British Columbia, VANCOUVER, BC

Dr. André Isaac, University of Alberta, EDMONTON, AB

Dr. Caroline Jeffery, University of Alberta, EDMONTON, AB

Dr. Simon Kirby, Memorial University, ST. JOHN’S, NL

Dr. Karen Kost, McGill University, MONTREAL, QC

Dr. Chwee Ming Lim, National University of Singapore, SINGAPORE

Dr. R. Jun Lin, University of Toronto, TORONTO, ON

Dr. Tamara Mijovic, McGill University, MONTREAL, QC

Dr. Ewa Olszewska, Medical University of Bialystok, POLAND

Dr. Nader Sadeghi, McGill University, MONTREAL, QC

Dr. Nael Shoman, Dalhousie University, HALIFAX, NS

Dr. Praby Singh, University of Toronto, TORONTO, ON

Dr. Leigh Sowerby, Western University, LONDON, ON

Dr. Sofia Waissbluth, Santiago, Chile

Dr. Alvin Wee, University of Toronto, TORONTO, ON

Dr. Han Zhang, McMaster University, HAMILTON, ON

Social Media Team

Dr. Emily Deane, Univeristy of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Dr. Ciaran Lane, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB

Dr. Alice Liu, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Dr. Pia Pace-Asciak, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON

Dr. Jennifer Siu, University of Toronto, TORONTO, ON